Day 20

So, here we are folks, two thirds of the way done with the Whole 30. Ten pounds lighter, a lot more energy, and a plethora of knowledge acquired about how to cook healthier for myself once this is all over. Has it been worth giving up alcohol and cheese for twenty days? Jury is still out on that one.

Luckily for me, my tears from watching the Packers play “football” are compliant! It’s been quite the journey so far, and I’m thankful for all the support I’ve received as well as the heckling. I’m still a little in awe in how far I’ve come! Hands down the hardest part of this whole experience has been being in social settings; not being able to eat and drink with all your friends is a little mentally taxing. Eating the foods Meg prepares during the week has turned out to be quite easy, and it definitely has been easier to turn away non-compliant items as this goes on. One the one hand it’s been a pleasant surprise how much good food you can eat that does not contain dairy, carbs or added sugars. One the other hand it’s been scientifically proving that covering any food item with cheese makes it taste better.

Meg has recently talked about the “re-introduction” phase where you slowly re-introduce items back into your system to see how your body will react. Now, I’m not sure if she never told me this before, or if I tuned it out when she explained it earlier, but I was under the impression the minute after the Whole 30 is officially done, we haul ass to Taco Bell to spend at least $20, go home where Meg and I would devour it all while splitting a case of ice cold Budweiser… we’ll see how this all pans out.

I got a lot of questions this weekend about whether I would do this again, and the answer is a hard ehhhhhhhhhh. We’ll be playing that one by ear.

Leave a Reply

